jump to beginning show previous Showing EXS-users Thread 4894 of 5381 show next jump to end

Forum Index | Read EXS: Policy/Rules Messages Threads Digests | Post New Message | Search!

From: Kevin McNair <kevinmcnair@comcast.net>
Date: Sun, 25 Dec 2005 at 2:47:36 PM
Subject: [EXS] Re: WWW.INSPIRATIONSOUNDS.CO.UK or Flossmodestudios.com and
Message #14977
I'm so confused: How can this be legal? Shmoe > I just received my Flossmode Studios sample discs of the Triton, > MOTIF ES, and the Fantom X! These sounds are amazing! I've tried > them with the EXS24 in Logic Pro 7 but it seems I have to adjust > the release on some of them. However, when I converted them for > Machfive the release times were better and actually easier for me > to edit since I'm more familiar with it. However, can anyone help > with info on shortning release times with the EXS24?
Viewed 1163 times, 1 reply, 5 messages in thread. Reply to this message.
From: Hollow Sun <steve@hollowsun.com>
Date: Sun, 25 Dec 2005 at 6:54:55 PM
Subject: Re: [EXS] Re: WWW.INSPIRATIONSOUNDS.CO.UK or Flossmodestudios.com
Message #14979
This is a reply to #14977.
> I'm so confused: How can this be legal? There's the rub - technically it is not... it is, in fact, totally illegal and in most courts or law across the world could be prosecuted under various copyright laws and laws relating to 'unfair trading'. It's the audio equivalent of of taking images from the latest movie blockbuster (say 'Narnia' or 'Harry Potter 4') and running off T-shirts to sell at a car boot sale (or, indeed, on a website). It is also pretty much the equivalent of copying/sampling any of the major sound libs (Garritan, VSL, East-West, whatever) and selling those as 'your own'. Think about it for a moment: Korg, Yamaha, Roland - whoever - spend $1.5 millions developing a new product (including teams of sound designers across the world making new sounds for it). The product price is set according to projected sales in order to recoup those substantial R+D investments. It goes into production and hits the streets. And then some twat like this come along, samples all the sounds and sells 'em for peanuts. Not only that, this one brags that you don't need to spend $2,500 on the original keyboard; $14.99 will get you the lot!! Hmmmmm! To be honest, I believe that promoting this Floss product here is contravening the fine and upstanding policy regarding piracy that this forum upholds. Think about it for a moment: I doubt anyone would report user/tech problems regarding any 3rd-party sound lib (such as the aforementioned Garritan, VSL, East-West, whatever) that had been similarly ripped off. In fact, I doubt the message would even make it up for public consumption... the rigorous moderator would censor it! It's no different. Furthermore, many of these companies have teams of legal eagles looking out for such contraventions - Floss could be in serious trouble if/when found out. He could be slammed with (at the very least) 'cease and desist' orders from the company's attorneys, could be charged for copyright convention of their sounds, for using (even *abusing*) their registered trademark, etc.. I am sure the guy is acting in all innocence but what he is doing is technically illegal. Technically as well, anyone who subscribes to his products by buying them is complicit in an act of piracy of intellectual copyright. Best regards, Steve http://www.hollowsun.com
Viewed 1150 times, 2 replies, 5 messages in thread. Reply to this message.
From: "markdvc2002" <mark@logic-users.org>
Date: Mon, 26 Dec 2005 at 2:32:38 AM
Subject: [EXS] [Admin] end of thread - WWW.INSPIRATIONSOUNDS.CO.UK
Message #14980
This is a reply to #14979.
--- In exs-users@yahoogroups.com, Hollow Sun <steve@h...> wrote: > > I am sure the guy is acting in all innocence but what he is doing is > technically illegal. Technically as well, anyone who subscribes to his > products by buying them is complicit in an act of piracy of intellectual > copyright. > Best regards, > Steve > http://www.hollowsun.com Thanks for this, Steve. Until we can clarify that these sample libraries are absolutely bona fide, in accordance with our long standing list policy, we will not accept any further posts praising or advising people to buy them. Offering them under the names of current synthesizer products from major MI manufacturers certainly seems dubious. thanks and regards Mark - LUG Admin
Viewed 1127 times, 1 reply, 5 messages in thread. Reply to this message.
From: Yusuf Jurgen Frenz <jurgenfrenz@yahoo.com>
Date: Thu, 5 Jan 2006 at 2:26:37 PM
Subject: Re: [EXS] question about editing loop points in logic sample editor
Message #15009
This is a reply to #14980.
Hi, when clicking on the E button in the "zone" window the sample editor opens and it is possible to edit the loop points etc graphically. The values from the zone window are read into the sample editor window and when dragging the LS and LE points the values are updated in the zone display of EXS. This works at times, but at other times the changes that I do in the graphic display ar NOT reflected in the EXS zone window. Is there something that I have to "activate"? Logic Pro 7.1.1 Cheers and thanks in advance JF ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ "It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets." Voltaire (1694-1778)
Viewed 988 times, 0 replies, 5 messages in thread. Reply to this message.
From: Jan Franklin <sales@inspirationsounds.co.uk>
Date: Thu, 29 Nov 2007 at 7:18:13 AM
Subject: Re: WWW.INSPIRATIONSOUNDS.CO.UK or Flossmodestudios.com
Message #16100
This is a reply to #14979.
Dear Logic-Users, I am very concerned about the implications on my company reputation as one of your posts is appearing as "number 3" and "number 4" in Google Search results when a customer searches for our domain name. It includes very misleading information which could have a negative impact on our company and brand. Here is the link to this post: http://logic-users.org/forums/EXS/thread/4894 And here is the impact it is having on Google... http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=www.inspirationsounds.co.uk&m eta= I totally understand that the views expressed are not your own, and that this is a forum, however, I am requesting that you (as the moderator of the site) remove any pages that refer to us acting in any type of "illegal activity". We have never sold illegal products, and we would never do this. We are a legitimate Sample CD retailer (and developer). We buy our products from Time+Space, Loopmasters, AMG, etc... Thirdly, we are major contributors to the "Anti-Piracy" forums that are being set up to counteract Piracy on torrent sites. I would be happy for you to contact any of the above suppliers to confirm that we are a 100% legitimate retailer of Sample CDs. If you ask them what Jan Franklin's attitude to illegal downloads of Sample CDs is.. You will get a VERY strong reaction. We are systematically going through all of the major developers urging them to take ACTION against illegal sites and individuals who are destroying the industry. For a short while we did sell some Synthesizer Patch sample cds, however, these did not include the original patches from the original synthesizers and therefore, this was not unlawful. They were simply recordings of fresh "non-factory" presets, very much like developers of new synth sound banks make money from selling patches for the Access Virus, etc. One of your users states: "it is, in fact, totally illegal and in most courts or law across the world could be prosecuted under various copyright laws and laws relating to 'unfair trading' " I don't appreciate this. I also think the way that our company name (Inspiration Sounds) seems to be linked with www.flossmodestudios.com is also misleading. We have nothing to do with this company and we have no associations with them. I have sent this email to your "WHOIS" lookup email address, but I thought I would also post it here so your users no our stance on this matter. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on this. Kind regards, Jan Franklin (Owner - Inspiration Sounds) WWW.INSPIRATIONSOUNDS.CO.UK ********************************************************************* Jan Franklin: General Manager / Owner Inspiration Sounds Address: 90 Dorchester Road, Lodmoor, Weymouth, Dorset, DT4 7LD, UK Direct No: +44 (0)1305 839 273 Main Line: +44 (0)8450 943 077 Email: info@inspirationsounds.co.uk Main Website: http://www.inspirationsounds.co.uk
Viewed 1336 times, 0 replies, 5 messages in thread. Reply to this message.

Forum Index | Read EXS: Policy/Rules Messages Threads Digests | Post New Message | Search!

Forum Index | Read EXS: Policy/Rules Messages Threads Digests | Post New Message | Search!


© 1994-2008, All Rights Reserved.